Lassithi Prefecture

Lassithi (Λασσίθι) - East Crete (Agios Nikolaos)

The multi-faceted prefecture of Lassithi covers the eastern part of Crete and is divided into 8 municipalities: Agios Nikolaos, Ierapetra, Sitia, Neapoli, Makrigialos, Lefki, Lasithi (Plateau of Lasithi) and Itanos.

Map Lassithi

[gmap markers=big blue::35.216004852051995,24.550323486328125 + 35.0677715672977,25.865936279296875 |zoom=9 |center=35.131140628613615,25.88104248046875 |width=420px |height=300px |control=Micro |type=Physical]

No other prefecture in Greece shows such a variety as Lasithi; the existence of so many regions which combine natural beauty with historical and archaeological interest.

Regions as the palm-forest of Vai, the beautiful Mirabello bay, the Lasithi plateau, the Beaches of Sissi and Makrigialos, the Dikti mountains with the Dikteon cave etc., are unique in Greece.

To the east of the village of Elounda, is the island of Spinalonga, formerly a Venetian fortress and a leper colony.

Lasithi PlateauWindmillsMirabello Bay

On the foot of Mount Dikti lies the Lasithi Plateau, famous for its windmills. Vai is well-known for its date palm forest.

Lasithi attracts many tourists. Mass tourism is served by places like Vai, Agios Nikolaos and the island of Chrissi.

More off-beat tourism can be found in villages on the south coast like Myrtos, Makri Gialos or Makrigialos, Xerokambos and Koutsouras.

The prefecture counts a lot of ancient remains. Vasiliki, Fournu Korfi, Pyrgos, Zakros and Gournia are ruins of Minoan date, Lato and Itanos were Doric towns.